Patsy Porco

Call Me Patsy Poppins

In Uncategorized on August 15, 2012 at 12:57 am

I’m a nanny. For three very young children. I only had one child, so I am in unknown territory. The three child seats in the back of my SUV blow me away every day. How did I become a nanny? The three children are as sweet as can be. But how did I become a childcare provider when I went to college for journalism? “It’s the economy, stupid,” as they said during President Clinton’s presidential campaign.

Call it what you will. We are in a depression, not a recession. Hundreds of thousands of people have become unemployed. Many of those have taken jobs which they never would have considered before.

While I’m a nanny a few days a week, the other days, if there is work, I copy-edit, or proofread, advertising copy. I cannot find a full-time job as a copy editor.

Despite the fact that ageism is illegal, let’s get real. Ageism still exists. I am over 50. My experience doesn’t matter. And I can’t complain. The experience of people my age never has mattered. My father’s company phased out his 50-something employees decades ago. I guess that I was banking on the power of the Baby Boomer Generation to oppose this discrimination.

Maybe the Baby Boomers are recipients of retirement benefits and don’t care anymore. I don’t know. I’m not close to retiring, and nobody, but nobody, is hiring full-timers. Sure, I can be employed every day of the week by the same company, but only if it’s through an agency. That way, no benefits need to be provided and no guarantee of future employment needs to be offered.

In the meantime, call me Patsy Poppins.

  1. Please stop writing blogs when you’re depressed!During a bad economy we wish to read uplifting or humorous fare!

    ________________________________

  2. That upsets me for you. I agree, there is ageism but I will never fully understand why. If I were hiring, I would want someone with more experience over someone younger. I suppose that is ageist too. Most often wisdom comes with age.

    When I worked, years ago, I was in sales and marketing. The company I worked for hired very young go-getters. This benefited me because I was a top rep of a billion dollar company by the time I was 21. They kept trying to promote me. I was pretty successful already. I told them no, at 21-23 I wasn’t mature enough to handle that type of pressure. They gave me a hard time. The problem was that lack of maturity, in the median of the company, helped drive it into the ground.

    Sorry I will step off my soap box. It is just a shame that people are not giving you a chance.

    • Thanks, Rebecca. People are giving me a chance, but not a full-time chance, with benefits! Then again, I’m hardly alone. It’s also a result of our economy. Employers are afraid to take on too many people right now. That was very mature of you to know that you weren’t mature enough to handle enormous pressure.

      • I am glad they are giving you a chance. I can see how the economy might be an issue, but it is better. I know in Texas anyway. I hope that soon you will get back into a full time position.

  3. Hi Patsy! Good post! Keep blogging, you’re great!

  4. I think credit cards are to blame. We need to have what we want, when we want it, even if we can’t afford it. Our society needs to start saving and stop borrowing. I agree with you about the Public Trough. It only exists because we created it with our own money. We wouldn’t be embarrassed to make a withdrawal from our bank account.

  5. Patsy et al.

    I am a few years ahead of you. I’m 65. I am on Social Security/ Disability and Medicare. I have prepared myself financially so that I can live comfortably. I am bemused by the fact that I am abnormal in this.

    What really bothers me is the fact that I am supposed to be embarrassed by being at the Public Trough. I have been paying into Social Security for approximately 50 years. I have been paying into Medicare since the inaction of the program.

    Writers like us need to work to educate the populace on how to better prepare themselves for the later years.

    Thoughts colleagues?

Leave a Reply

The Renegade Press

Tales from the mouth of a wolf

debiboc

This WordPress.com site a journey through 2014 - Body and Soul

Leonard's Lines

A world without humor just isn't funny.

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Ben's Bitter Blog

"We make bitter better."

saneteachers

What they never taught me in teacher school.

SERENDIPITY

Searching for intelligent life on earth

ANIKET SHARMA PHOTOGRAPHY

World through my lens

Happiness Between Tails by da-AL

Arts + Cooking + Dancing + Joy + Writing + Tales + Tails

Sableyes

Sabbles woz 'ere

Life In Our Little LA Garden

Spending time in our urban oasis planting seeds and talking about it

Waking Muses

A Creative Writing Project

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Mara Eastern

Never liked rainbows & fed the unicorn to the cat

razorbackwriteraus

In the sea of dreams.

Bluestem Pond

Diary of the creation of Bluestem Pond Farm

pieofthebeholder

52 weeks. 52 pies.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

New York Sports Roundup

A fine WordPress.com site

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

Nailsbails

A little about everything, a lot about nothing.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

